Refugee Festival Scotland Media Awards 2019 shortlist announced

Media awards 2019 logo
Media awards 2019

Refugee Festival Scotland Media Awards 2019 shortlist announced

Scottish Refugee Council is pleased to announce the shortlist for the Refugee Festival Scotland Media Awards.

The awards celebrate the exemplary work of journalists in Scotland covering refugee and asylum stories. The ceremony takes place during Refugee Festival Scotland in June and is organised by Scottish Refugee Council in partnership with the National Union of Journalists and British Red Cross.

Refugee Festival Scotland Media Awards 2019 shortlist 


Alasdair Clark, Commonspace, I am only Rahman from camp number 16: The story of a 'citizen of nowhere' on hunger strike to keep the Serco wolves from the door.

Stacey Mullen, Evening Times / The Herald, Home Win: Joy for Celtic fan Giorgi as he is saved from Serco eviction.

Niall Christie, Barrhead News, Barrhead is a world away from the nightmare of life in war-torn Syria.

Marc Horne, The Times, Home Office uses debit cards to spy on asylum seekers.


Megan McEachern, Sunday Post, The people who gave their spare rooms to Scotland's asylum seekers.

Alan Robertson, Sunday Mail, Sena’s story.

Paul English, Freelance/ Sunday Post, They started shooting at our school, so we hid in my teachers house

Marc Horne, The Times, Big Yin pops in on Bute's Syrian Scots.


BBC Scotland, The New Scots Series - Marwa's Story.

Megan McEachern, Sunday Post, No one can stop them singing.

Paul English, Freelance / BBC R4, The Trojan Women - The World Tonight.


Liam Kirkaldy, Holyrood Magazine, How hostile environment immigration policy reaches into every area of UK society.

Greg Russell, The National/ Sunday National, Home Office caught out over detained refugee.

John Ferguson, Sunday Mail, Tories Deport Queen's Baton Holder.

Niall Christie, Evening Times, Serco slated after 70 percent of Glasgow's asylum seeker accommodation fails Home Office inspections.


Student award to be announced on the night.

Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Tuesday 25 June in Glasgow.