Shortlist announced for Refugee Festival Scotland Media Awards

On Air
Scottish Refugee Council goes on air!

Stories about recently arrived refugees from Syria, problems with asylum accommodation and indefinite immigration detention in Scotland make up the shortlist of entries for this year’s Refugee Festival Scotland media awards.

The high standard of entries to this year’s awards reflects the continued commitment of Scotland’s journalists to fair and accurate coverage of refugee and asylum issues.

The Refugee Festival Scotland media awards celebrate the exemplary work of journalists tackling difficult stories and complex issues. These issues highlight Scotland’s international role in providing protection to people fleeing persecution and torture in countries like Syria, Eritrea and Sudan.

The shortlist of entries includes coverage the many challenges facing refugees in the UK, including poor quality accommodation, the scandal of indefinite immigration detention and refugees’ fears for their families left behind, including the threat from ISIS and repressive regimes.

But the entries also include inspiring stories of the welcome refugees receive in Scotland from local people and explore the contribution refugees make to Scotland’s communities.

The Refugee Festival Scotland media awards are coordinated by Scottish Refugee Council, British Red Cross and the National Union of Journalists in Scotland.

The awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday 17 June at the Lighthouse in Glasgow.

Refugee Festival Scotland media awards 2015 shortlist

  • Annie Brown (Daily Record)
  • Martyn McLaughlin (Scotsman)
  • Billy Briggs (Freelance)
  • Rachel Loxton (Sunday Herald / Evening Times)
  • Calum McKay (BBC Scotland)
  • Christina O’Neill (Herald/ Freelance)
  • Joe McGuire (Glasgow Now)
  • Colin Stone (STV)

For more information about the awards please contact Pauline Diamond Salim on 0141 248 9799 or email

Follow us on Twitter @ScotRefCouncil and use our festival hashtag #RefugeeFestScot or become a fan on Facebook: